Trox

Flash Activator Making A Bad Sound

Is it somebody in this forum who knows these ovens. I got an old Whitfield and Wylie flash activator from a shoe repair shop I sold for a friend. This was a leftover from the sale and I thought about using it in my leather shop. I cleaned it up and checked the wirings before I tested it. I turned it on and the infrared bulb was working, then I pushed the boost button and a terrible sound started. The boost was set for 12 seconds and the sound lasted these 12 seconds as well. It produced heat as I suppose it should do. I never tried a "machine" like this before, and it sounded like a very loud microwave. Perhaps it is a kind of microwave for all I know. Are they supposed to sound like this, or is something very wrong with it? It has a fuse inside and nothing happened to the buildings fuses. Somebody with knowledge about these please give me some help here.

Thanks

Tor

Let me start by saying that I have no specific knowledge of the specific oven you have.

The sound you are describing should like a transformer hum. It is not a desirable condition but is not necessarily something to be afraid of. Oftentimes the contacts get corroded and they start vibrating. If it is working I would leave it. If it gets horrible or is it stops working replace the contactor.

Call the friend who owned the shop, see what he says. Check all the boxes, actually open them and look at connections etc. Corroded terminals, loose solder joints, frayed wiring all can cause various symptoms. Components can slip Q or value and cause all sorts of oscillations. You probably don't have this problem where you are, but I once had a snake in a control box and another time a squirrel (at least that's what I thought with what was left of him).

Thank you all for the answers and sorry for the late replay.