chriscraft

Working On First Belt,,work In Progress.....

Making this belt for my partner at work, "guinea pig", this will be my first leather project that isn't on scrap leather. Plan to make myself one once I make a few and work out all the bugs since i'm new to this. The belt will be dyed black since were required as part of our uniform. I'm not working from patterns and will be using my own layout. Gotta stay away from all that copyright stuff since I plan on to sell them once I get the hang of it. I showed off the layout design at work and all the other medics are looking forward to how these will turn out. I think they will look perfect when done. I can already see the end result and i'm not even done. Guess thats just normal for me. Chris

post-38453-0-21515000-1359999706_thumb.j

post-38453-0-00511600-1359999710_thumb.j

Looking good man!! There's a couple spots where it looks like you overshot your knife cut a little (in the scroll work), and the "P" has a wavy line on the left side. But, as always, those are just nitpicks to point out things to watch out for while you're practicing. KEEP IT UP!!

Another thing to think about is a border, even if it's just a simple bead line. Right now things look like they just kind of go off into nowhere and they're un-contained. Now, you can go past that border for parts of it (kind of gives a cool perspective) but having a slight boundary will really increase the aesthetics of the piece as a whole. This also gives you room to make sure you can bevel and burnish your edges without cutting into the design too much. Don't let a raw/unfinished edge sink the quality of your work. It's too good to let that happen :)