Hello everyone. I've lurked around here for awhile, picking up tips and tricks from the many seasoned vets here, and for that I thank you all very much. I've been building Kydex holsters on the side for the past 2 years and have wanted to try my hand at some leather work for awhile. I built this holster for a friend of mine for his Beretta 92 FS. This is the 2nd leather project I've attempted, the first being a holster for myself.

The only guidelines given to me were to make it a pancake holster with a slight forward cant and a full sweat shield. I was given free reign as far as the design went. I'm pretty new to leather work, but I am really proud of this one. I made this one from a nice piece of 8-9oz leather. The entire holster is double stitched. The front enforcement piece was stamped with his initials and resist dyed to bring out the letters. I airbrushed the holster myself with 4 shades of tan and black for a nice deep sunburst effect. Tell me what you guys think.

I know that hindsight is 20/20 and I'll be adjusting the stitch line on my template I made for this holster. The stitch line on the left side of the firearm is obviously not straight, but this one is for a friend, so I'm not too worried about it. Any I make in the future for this firearm will obviously have the stitch line parallel to the firearm.

Beretta92FS.jpg

-Adam

That's just fantastic for a second holster! One thing I see that you didn't mention is the sharp points on top of the wings. Rounded works a little better for a few reasons. First, rounded doesn't snag clothing as easily. Second, the sharp point isn't as supported by the stitch, and can become tattered/dog eared over time. You're attention to the stitch line around the trigger guard is very good, and it should be a very serviceable holster.