Sign in to follow this  
frunzoaie

What type of sewing machine should I buy?

Hello eveyone,

I'm new here so if this topic was already discussed here I apologise in advance. I need help figuering out what type of industrial machine should I buy. I need it to sew leather case covers for musical instruments and maybe leather guitar straps later on. I need a machine that I could adjust the speed as I am a beginner and can't sew fast just yet. Last year I bought a Janome Memory Craft 6600 P machine from a local shop. I was told it would work for what I needed but it didnt. The problem was that it was too weak so it didn't sew multiple layers of leather and I had to sell it.

To see pictures of the case covers I plan to make please go to www.ciprianignat.com

Any suggestions are very much appreciated as I don't want to make the same mistake as I did last year (can't really afford to).

Thank you,

Ciprian

Edited by frunzoaie

im not sure about you, but ive spent alot of $$ on various smaller machines only to find out the next project, the machine was too small.

i would get some material you plan on sewing and find a dealer that handles industial machines and go from there. you can try contacting some of the saddlers/chaps makers in your area and ask if they are willing to entertain your questions and to see if you can try their machine on your material.

whatever you do, make sure you get a machine large enough to handle what you want to do and maybe then some. i dont know how many times i got a machine with a 3/8 in lift and needed 1/2 or more the next time. you may not need it, but i always found myself need just a tad more on the next project. Throat depth is a factor too.

also, think about what size thread youre going to use on your projects since that can be a limiting factor.

if youre not familiar with sewing machine, you may want to find one with local support too. jic, you have any problems you cant handle.

good luck too.