Hoyt64

Punching Holes For Hand Stitching

Hello,

I am just getting started in leatherwork and I am making a knife sheath for my first project. I have punched the holes and handstitched the leather for the belt loop and it turned out well. My question is , what is the best way to punch the holes down the side of the sheath since it has a thick welt that will be between the 2 pieces of folded over leather to be stitched together. I have a punch that has 4 prongs on it but I don't think it is long enough to get all the way through the 2 pieces of leather and the welt. Any advice would be appreciated.

Hello,

I am just getting started in leatherwork and I am making a knife sheath for my first project. I have punched the holes and handstitched the leather for the belt loop and it turned out well. My question is , what is the best way to punch the holes down the side of the sheath since it has a thick welt that will be between the 2 pieces of folded over leather to be stitched together. I have a punch that has 4 prongs on it but I don't think it is long enough to get all the way through the 2 pieces of leather and the welt. Any advice would be appreciated.

You'll have to use an awl. Most here will recommend a spade or diamond bladed awl, however I use a round one as it's the only one I have at present and it works. Others use a drill press or dremel to drill holes, for the most part I think that is discouraged.

Just make sure your awl is very sharp and polished.

Good Luck,

Kevin

A drill press or a drill with the smallest bit works nicely! Use a stitch wheel to get the distance you want.

For thick multi-layer pieces like this I use my drill press (to keep it straight) and for a bit I use a large sewing machine needle. Tandy sells 3 sizes of large needles, I use the middle size most of the time, depending on the thread I am using.

Aaron