Sign in to follow this  
Priam1

Help with carviing/stamping fork

Hi Everyone:

I'm a newbie and building my first saddle, a slick fork (8 inch fork) with a 5 inch cantle. In any case, I'm about to cover the fork, but I want to do a combination carving border with a standard basket weave stamping for the center. I'm really nervous about ruining the fork because from what I undersand, the fork is stamped after it is installed. Can anyone give me some advice as to how to stamp it without making stupid mistakes. For instance I'm concerned that the stamp won't track straight because of the curve of the fork. Furthermore, that the stamping will not be as deep as if it was done on a stone block because again, the curvature of the fork. Any advice/suggestions would be most appreciated.

Priam,

When I do a basket stamp on a slick fork, I take a ruler and draw a guide line down the center of where my pattern will be. As long as you are not using a flexible ruler that gets bent into the curves of the fork, your guide line will be a straight line. Each single basket stamp is usually too small on it's own to cause much distortion to the straight line. By starting in the middle of your pattern and working outwards to two different edges, you minimize the distortion through the forks contours enough that the eye can barely detect it when it's finished.