Sign in to follow this  
mliebs8

I'm going to start making holsters, belts, and magazine holders

This website is so full of information it's amazing. I'm going to start making holsters, belts, and magazine holders in the next couple of months and would like to know what equipment is necessary to make the job a little easier. I'm looking at the Neel's Saddlery or Artisan 3000 for a sewing machine so far but that's about it. I'd like to know what hand tools would be needed, which press would be the best for moulding (with a somewhat reasonable price), and what I would need to cut strips for belts. This is going to be a hobby but I would like to turn it into a small side business in the next few years if possible. I'm also looking at possibly buying or making a clicker for multiple patterns. Any input would be greatly appreciated. My budget to get this started is going to be in the 4-5000 dollar range.

i am kind of new to this also but i think you will need all the tooling stamps. a round knife is great. get a good bench to work on. riveting tools, a strap cutter to cut belts is great just dont buy a cheap one. edging tools. i have found that i buy tools as i need them and i use them alot once i get them. its hard to say exactly what you will need untill you start doing it.

Here is my suggestions to do what you are wanting to do.

Knives, a good round knife a good point knife you will use these a lot.

Strap cutter, also buy good one as you will use it a lot.

Edgers, a number 2 and / or #3 , CS Osborne or tandy will work but I bought 3 Ron's edgers and just love them well worth the money.

A 4" X 36" table top style belt sander. I use this to sand all my edges. Well worth the investment.

Needles and thread, sometimes you just have to hand sew something.

Rivits and setters, get an assortment. Jiffy rivits and copper rivits and burrs.

Dye, assortment of colors saddle tan & Mahogony is very popular with my customers.

Finish, Super Shene or Tan Coat works good.