Sign in to follow this  
BigRiverLeather

Hermann Oak Leather Choices From Springfield

Hermann Oak choices  

31 members have voted

1. 1. Which cut do you use?

I'm going to give Hermann Oak a shot and since I'm not buying in bulk, it looks like Springfield should be my go to supplier.

What is your preferred cut of concealed carry holsters, mostly wet molding, not much tooling other than hand boning. I know the weights I need for different applications, but which cut do you like from them out of the following

Backs

Double Shoulder

Sides

I talked to them yesterday and with their help I am leaning towards the back, not much belly, fairly clean etc.

What say you?

Wow, so far 3 votes for shoulders and 3 for sides, but none for backs which she recommended to me. Hmm...

Wow, so far 3 votes for shoulders and 3 for sides, but none for backs which she recommended to me. Hmm...

I recently ordered some Herman Oak from Springfield. Granted, I'm a total newb at this, so take my opinion with a grain of salt... but the 7/8oz double shoulder I received was pretty nice leather. Perfect thickness, very workable, and very few blemishes. Of course I don't really have anything to compare it to, but it's worked out well for me so far.

Now if I could just get the dying, burnishing, and stitching down I'd be all set ;)

Just a note. The closer you get to the belly the more stretch you will get. For belts and holders, I like to stick with the upper portion of the hide, towards the back. Shoulders are okay for me. I have seen a lot of stretch marks aroudn the shoulder. But then again, I like these characteristics, especially, when they are finished. It adds a nice texture.

I have bought my hides from Stevenson Paxton at $99 a side and I have yet to be dissatisfied with S&P leather in Corona, CA.

Now, I have also bought some of Springfield Leather (special listed in the banner above) Hermann Oak, cost a bit more, but great customer service.

Good luck