Sign in to follow this  
eirenealetheia

Advice for my next belt

Well, seeing as I've only made one belt before and quite possibly fluked it with that one (LOL!), I think I really do need some advice so my next belt (Christmas present for my mother) turns out alright!

I've bought a pre-stamped belt blank (thought I'd make life somewhat easier on myself, rather than jumping in the deep end and trying tooling straight away!) that I'm hoping to antique stain and lacquer.

Now for the questions... How do you actually do the antique staining? The lady who sold me everything just mentioned something about "wiping it off before it totally dries" or something, but I want to make sure I get it right!! Also, how do I finish the edges of the belt, so that they don't go "fuzzy" with wear? What do I need to do that and how?

Thanks in advance, and sorry about the total newbie questions!!

Hi and welcome Eire (sumting)!!

Doubleposting is not necessary, you'll get help from this board anyways but maybe it was a mistake so on to your probs.

Doing the edges is a widely discussed subject here. Use the search form wich is available att the bottom of the screen whenever you get into one of the subforums. You can choose from the dropdown list to search a specific subforum or all. Use keywords like edges, edging, slick (ing), burnish and I think you get a bunch of threads and there are some with the actual topic right in the threadname. We have just had a really strong and lively thread about this.

In short you use a little tool called edge beveler to cut the edges so they get rounded and then you use a slicker (bone, hardwood and plastic is mostly used as slicker but a piece of canvas can also be used) and whilst leather is damp you polish (some say burnish) the edges to a smooth and/or high gloss condition. There is also different aids ranging from saliva(!!!) to a sticky goo called gum-tragacanth that you can put onto the edge while slicking to make it easier.