Newtoyou

Just Got A Steal? Or Did I Get Ripped Off?

I just purchased this saddle for 150 of of craigslist. Took it to a saddle repair shop and asked for them to shorten the fenders and condition it. He said that he couldnt make the fenders shorter and reccomended that I buy a new saddle from him.....OK. He told me that this was a mexican made saddle and it was crap but said that He would buy it from me for 120.00...HUH? anyway I like the tooling on it. The tree is rawhide covered, and the leather is thick, much thicker than todays saddles. It is pretty heavy but I havent weighed it yet.

The guy I bought it from said that his mom had it custom made in the early .80s by saddle maker in the pacific northwest. I live in Wa state. His mom had the saddle in storage for several years and when she passed away they cleaned out the storage and found this. It was dry but not cracked and the fenders are STIFF but in good condition otherwise. Im new to the picture posting so forgive me if they dont turn out! Does anyone have any info on this saddle or can give me good advice?

Thank you!!

post-26913-048306200 1322785687_thumb.jp

post-26913-055292400 1322786258_thumb.jp

post-26913-057351400 1322786272_thumb.jp

post-26913-028224000 1322786281_thumb.jp

post-26913-045984300 1322786293_thumb.jp

post-26913-040817300 1322786306_thumb.jp

post-26913-064829600 1322786313_thumb.jp

post-26913-062926200 1322786323_thumb.jp

I would say that the saddlemaker is spot on, and the man who sold it to you was not truthful! Sorry, but we all learn by our mistakes! I don't think you are hurt to bad on the price you paid, if that helps any!