MidwestSkylor

Kansas Tannery

Does anyone know of a tannery to get hides in Kansas other than Tandy Leather Factory? I won't be buying in bulk. It's just for personal projects and trying to make my skills better. I like to try and support local companies.

Thanks

Are you looking for an actual tannery or a leather supplier? There are only a handful of tanneries in the U.S.

I'm 100% sure that Tandy doesn't actually have a tannery.

Tandy is a retailer/supplier and they buy their hides from tanneries like Herman Oak, and Wickett and Craig, as well as other tanneries in other countries. You may have a local Tandy store, but they are only middle men. If you have not had a good experience with your local store, please check out our suppliers in the ad banner.

There is Leather Smith Supply Co. in Overland Park KS http://www.leathersmithsupply.com/

Edited by camano ridge

I guess I need to get used to the terminology. Sorry I am a newbie. I am wanting a leather supplier I guess for whole sides. I was just trying to cut out the middle man and go striaght to the source. Thanks

Ah.

You can try Herman Oak Tannery, or Wickett and Craig. Typically, they have a minimum order (I think the HO minimum is 10 sides), so you'll be looking at quite a chunk of change.

If you won't need that much, contact the vendors here. The one I use is Springfield and I know they sell shoulders, bellies, double shoulders, backs, sides and sometimes whole hides.

There is Leather Smith Supply Co. in Overland Park KS http://www.leathersmithsupply.com/

Actually the Leathersmith in Overland Park is closing their store. I noticed there is a message on their home page.

Total Bummer. Mark at Leathersmith Supply is a great guy. I wish him luck in his other business.

All of the KS suppliers seem to be closing. There was American Leather in Leavenworth, and they closed January.

There are a number of boot and shoe places that deal with the evil empire (Tandy) and get you thier items, but