Sign in to follow this  
LAPat

Do I have to deglaze veg tan and/or harness leather?

First of all, I can't tell you how much I appreciate this forum and Art for turning me on to it.

I am a dog trainer who started out making real fur dog toys for competition dogs and then started making split braided leashes. I spent years working without a machine since this was a part time thing and made everything with split braiding and some rudimentary pattern tooling, which worked then. Then I got a Singer 500 and started sewing a few toys, but with a lot of struggle because the Singer, which is a great machine, was really being asked to do something she wasn't meant for. However, for someone who is doing this the hard way, I sell a fair amount of real fur toys to the "fancy."

I just bought a Pfaff 545 and so far I am thrilled with what it has done for my ability to turn out product.

I am also trained in fine art and did a lot of oil painting years ago, which I much prefer to acrylic.

Now I am at the point where I want to add color to my leashes and paint detail as well, whether or not I tool them. In the beginning I was lucky to find some brightly colored shoe leather which I am running out of, with hues like orange, yellow, baby blue, red and turquoise. But the leather is not all that soft and really only works if I braid it with a latigo or veg tan.

I also only recently started bevelling edges and just bought my first side of harness leather.

I will try to keep the questions simple.

Do I have to deglaze veg tan and/or harness leather?

Is there a homemade or simple deglazer that is not a commercially prepared product?

For a one-off projuect I bought some nu-life color spray and it tested very well on the veg tan. Is this an acceptable product? (I would not use it regularly due to cost of course)? Can I use it on the comparatively waxy/oily harness leather without deglazing it?

Is there a way to use an airbrush for dying leather?