Sign in to follow this  
Lurker2

Velcro And Leather?

OK, the noob here has a question. I need to attach loop Velcro to the inside of a belt. Belt is single thickness, so rivets and stitching are both out. Has anyone successfully used glue? I need something stronger than Velcro's StickyBack or heat-activated types.

There may be a better way, Lurker2, . . . but so far I have not found it. I've tried just about the best contact cement I've ever seen and even it would not hold it like I wanted it to.

I made a couple of special cell phone (I phone type) holders for a unique situation, . . . needed flap over the top, . . . velcro to keep flap closed, . . . that was the order.

I wound up contact cementing the things on there, . . . then stitching them.

If I was doing the belt you mentioned, . . . contact cement first, . . . then sew the edges, making it appear decorative.

May God bless,

Dwight

... I've tried just about the best contact cement I've ever seen and even it would not hold it like I wanted it to.

If I was doing the belt you mentioned, . . . contact cement first, . . . then sew the edges, making it appear decorative.

Dwight,

Thanks for the quick reply.

What brand of contact cement are you using?

OK, the noob here has a question. I need to attach loop Velcro to the inside of a belt. Belt is single thickness, so rivets and stitching are both out. Has anyone successfully used glue? I need something stronger than Velcro's StickyBack or heat-activated types.

Lurker, I have made a few 'bucklelss' belts with Velcro fastening. The only way to unsure that the Velcro remains in place is to stitch it in place after cementing. I use 'Weldwood' contact cement........the solvent based version..........you can get it 4 oz bottles. I tried their water based stuff but wasn't too happy with it. JMHO, Mike

I use the same as Katsass, . . . Weldwood.

They have a new product, . . . a gel version. I've used it for a couple of months now, . . . it's good.