Sign in to follow this  
shockme2

Holster pattern

Hello!

I'm very new to leather working. So new I haven't ever tried it. I would like to find a pattern for to make a holster for a 1911. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance for all your help. :)

Welcome to the forum.

The best way is to make your own. Take paper and pencil to make a bunch of different patterns. Use patterns to put around the gun until you find one that meets your particular needs. That is how I determined mine.

Using someone elses pattern may not be a good solution to meet your need. Hope this helps.

I agree with Srigs, you need to start with your gun and several pieces of paper, but there are about a zillion designes for 1911 holsters, and if you have trouble coming up with your first one, sometimes you can get ideas from just looking at whats out there. By looking at other peoples designs, you can get an idea of what works, and what doesn't. You need to decide how you want the gun to ride, and what you will be using it for. A daily carry CCW holster will be very different from a field or hunting holster. I don't usually copy a holster, but you might find two or three features from different designs that you can apply to your own. After you make one, and use it for awhile, you will be able to tell what you like and don't like, and you can change your next one to suit your needs or likes. That is how I started making my own holsters. I am not an expert on holsters, but I know what I like. I have arrived at this by trial and error, and carrying one CCW on a daily basis, and occasionally in the field. I don't know all the answers, but I know what works for me. Hope this helps. :)

Hi and welcome to Leatherworker.net. We're glad you found our little corner of the internet.