Cyclist2

Stitching Newbie, Tool Question

I'm new at this, kit level so far, but I'm modifying them to better suit my needs and that requires some freehand stitching. I don't have a store nearby, so can't go look at tools. I see several methods of getting holes in the leather - the punched round holes that come in the kits, the awl in a grove with an overstitching wheel, and the chisels with 1, 2, 4, or 6 teeth in a row.

Without buying them all, any advice on which is a good method for stitching 4-5 oz leather that comes in wallet type kits and the wallet inside leather? I know that with time (and reading the zillion posts here) I'll be buying lots of tools and I don't want to spend a lot on the "wrong" tools now.

Thanks!

Mark

Assuming you are in this for the long haul...

- Forget the punched round holes

- A saddler's awl, some harness needles and thread, an overstitch wheel and stitching groover will cost you less, be most universally applied, and be moderately difficult to learn. Getting uniformly spaced, straight lines, attractive stitching on both front and back sides takes some practice. I refer to this as the Al Stohlman or American style of stitching. Using the stitching groover is a bit more forgiving as it forces the stitches to lie in a line. This is less demanding than stitching without a groover.