mellykelly

Newbie From Aussie Re Tack

I'm very new at leatherwork and out of necessity need to make my own miniature pony halters as they are too difficult to find. This might be a stupid question but can someone please tell me how I am supposed to treat the underside of the leather to take that suadey feel out of it. Also would hand stitching be okay or do I need a machine? If so what sort ie walking foot v any other? Sorry to appear dumb but there are very few resources re this in australia.

Melly. What type of leather are you using ? Ideally you need to be using bridle leather but you could use heavy weight embossing leather at a push for mini halters. To get rid of the suede feel from the underside ( this side of the leather is called the flesh side and the smooth finished side is called the grain side ) you double over the leather so that the grain side is visible from both sides. As an example, if say the cheek piece finished length is 7" then you cut the strap 16" (double the 7" and add 2" for a turn back ). You now have the grain side visible from both sides and the flesh side is sandwiched in the middle and thus unseen. The head strap can have a lining if you desire to cover up the flesh. The nose band can be the same or can be made like explained for the cheek and would therefore be non adjustable. Have a sticky beak in any saddlery store that stocks more than webbing halters. Bonnets or horse land should stock leather halters. Also go to Adelaide leather in Waymouth street for supplies. Hand stitching would be absolutely fine.

Cheers.

Barra

Hi Barra