owenzachary

Newbie Needing Leather Suggestions

Good morning!

I am a newbie to the board but have been reading the boards for some time trying to learn a bit about leather. At this point I'm trying to learn about the right type of leather that would be good use as handbag straps/handles as well as small coin bags and pouches.

Ideally, I need a leather that has minimal stretch for the handles. I do not have the skills or desire to dye or treat the leather myself at this point. The totes would be for everyday use but I need it to be of a thickness that would be durable and able to take daily use.

Over the holidays I ordered some various leather strips and latigo strips that had been precut from Zach White and Springfield. I was very impressed with the quality and think they will be perfect. But here's my question (from a newbie)....

Is it more cost effective to order the strips ready to go like I just ordered, or is there a better method? I have a large studio to work would cutting my own be better? I like the lengths they come in, but for custom projects where I would need a specific length I'd have some leftovers that I may or may not be able to use?

For my pouches, I understand that I would need a softer leather but what type of leather would you recommend?

I hope I didn't confuse everyone!

Cindy

Great questions. I will leave the question about types of leather to those who have made more bags then I have. The cutting question however, I can awnser. Yes, it would be a touch cheaper to cut your own strips. Not by a ton, but cheaper. The bigger advantage is being able to get lengths and widths you want with minimual waste. I would suggest investing in a good metal strap cutter though. The cheaper wooden ones don't seem to work particularly well, and I have not gotten the best results with a straight edge.