terrymac

Question For Somebody

I have been tooling leather for probably 50 years, only problem I kept the tools in the closet for close to 40 of them, only getting them out when someone would talk me into making something. Last year and a half I discovered I really do enjoying tooling, and have been getting back into, and trying to learn Sheridan style. Sometime during my break, mauls came into popularity. Will somebody please explain to me what a maul is supposed to do better than an old fashioned rawhide mallet. I have got light and medium weight rawhide mallets I got from Tandy's years ago, and I just have not been able to figure out what the maul will do better. Please, somebody explain. If I am missing out on something worthwhile, I don't want to pass something valuable that could help me.

Thanks,

Terry

I don't have the answer but I am just as curious. I think they are supposed to be more balanced for ease of use and less fatigue on your wrist, unlike a mallet that has all the weight on one end?

I don't claim to know the answer, however; the reason that I like the maul over the mallet is, 1) you don't have to hit a maul onto the the tool dead center of the head to get a good impression, so you can concentrate more on what the tool is doing , 2) when you hit a mallet off center it twists in your hand causing fatigue, 3) I personally find better balance, since my hands are rather large and the handle of the maul allows me to hold the maul loosely and still have control without bounce back, and finally simply put" tap, tap, tap, / thump, thump, thump, I like Thump!deadsubject.gif

Like I said, I am not the last word here, just why I like the maul. Perhaps some of the real artists like Bob Park, or Troy West, or the many others who's work is shown here can chime in.

Bondo Bob

Bob pretty well covered the highlights of the maul over the mallet....here's a little background...