Sign in to follow this  
Larry

How do i put it all together?

I went on the "Where to Find It" part of this forum to find the insides for a clutch purse/checkbook wallet formy wife. I was told Springfieldwould have it and they did. It's the C-F insert and looks well made. They were very helpful. Only, it doesnot have a checkbook and register position. I have my book "The Artof Making Leather Cases" by A.S. and I can make one and add it to theinsides. I'm new to this craft and not really sure of what to lookout for when I put this all together. SL sent me some 3-4 oz veg. tanned leatherbecause my wife wanted a tooled cover. I can make the checkbook cover outof it also and glue and stitch it to the insert. I want to stitch it all rather than laceit.

Here are my questions:

1. Do I need to cut the leather after I toolit due to stretching (that makes sense) but do I need to cut it exactly the dimensionof the insert or do I make it 1/8" larger.
  2. Do I use my Barge Contact Cement on thepaper like insert and the leather just like putting two pieces of leathertogether?
  3. I ordered the NRC Checkbook insert and not sure how itgoes into the checkbook slot. It looks to be a tri-fold. I can seethat one of the tri-fold needs to be out for the check that being written, onepart of the tri-fold would be under the slot for the checkbook, but what aboutthe third part of the tri-fold.
  4. Please let me know what else I need to look outfor. I can't afford to mess up this$26.00 insert (retired/fixed income dilemma)

Thanks everyone for the help. And, thanks for helping me learn this greatcraft. Larry

Edited by Larry

hey Larry