Big D

Help?!

Hello, everyone... I have been a tattoo artist for years, but recently changed careers (somewhat). I now work for a high end furniture company, and I have the opportunity to help my employer branch out a little. We would like to tattoo leather. Here lies my problem... I picked up some leather scraps and attempted to tattoo them, but there is residue tattoo ink outside my lines and unlike skin, I am not able to wipe it off without smearing tattoo ink all over the leather. I have seen some gorgeous tattooed leather furniture, but nobody is talking about how that is done. Am I using the wrong leather? Am I using the wrong ink? Is there a certain way that I should go about cleaning the leather as I tattoo? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I am new to this, and would love for it to work!

Thank you!

Hello Big D,

I'm not a tattoo artist, but I have been interested in tattooing leather also. A while back, there were a few posts on this forum that showed some tattooed leather work, and I asked questions then, in hopes of maybe buying a cheap tattoo machine (for leather only). I wasn't able to gather enough information on the techniques used, so my attention moved on to other projects.

Having worked with leather and leather dye, but never using any tattoo ink, I can only guess that the results of ink against bare leather would be similar. I wonder if you were to seal the surface of the leather with a water repellent sealer before tattooing, would that prevent the ink that pools on top of the skin during the tattoo process from staining the surface?

I would suggest that you try a series of experiments using sealed and unsealed veg tan and chrome tan leathers, different sealers (maybe even liquid latex). I would try the veg tan leather dry, oiled, lightly damp with water, and soaking wet.

I hope you find the right technique, and I hope you're willing to share the results of any experiments.

ken