Hello all. I'm brand new to leather working and am trying to see if anyone happens to have a template for the WW2 1911 holsters. I'm going to start with a couple pancakes but would really like one of these as well. Any help on the matter would be great! Thank you!

The most common holster in use during WW2 by Marines, as well as Army and other forces, was the US M1916 Model Dismounted pistol holster. That model remained virtually unchanged from 1916 to the 1980's, although changing from russet tan to black in the mid-1950's when the US Army changed to black gear.

I don't know of a source for a pattern or template, but there are many thousands of GI surplus holsters available and frequently seen on eBay and other sites. If you really wish to make one you should be able to acquire an original to strip down and replicate the pattern.

Most of the original WW1 and WW2 production holsters have a good demand from collectors, and prices may range up to $200-plus for those in excellent condition and/or from certain producers. Later production pieces, such as Vietnam era and later, can be purchased for relatively small investment, frequently less than $20.00.

There are also a number of companies producing replicas of the originals at varying prices. Some are well made and others are basically junk.

Reproducing the original pattern will require a source for the wire belt hanger and Sam Browne-style stud fastener for the flap (which will also require the installation tools). Duplicating those parts may be the most challenging part of your project.

The other commonly used holsters during WW2 were the US M3 shoulder holster, and a very few US M7 shoulder holsters (reportedly a special order for the US Marine Corps). Again, originals are in good supply (and also in high demand, especially when found in original and excellent condition), and several companies are offering replicas based (more or less) on the original patterns.