mtrain17

Lacing Sizes And Lacing Hole Sizes

Hi all,

I am very new to leatherworking and have completed about six kits. I am interested in beginning a leather project from scratch.

I have a couple of questions when it comes to lacing.

When it comes to lacing hole sizes and spacing between holes I was wondering if it mattered much? To be clearer, do all multi-prong hole punches have the same spacing between each prong?

How do I know how many SPI I should use for a project? Or is it just personal preference?

I've noticed round hole punches and slot punches for lacing are sometimes measured 3/32". Does this mean I have to use lace that is 3/32" inches wide?

I apologize for the slew of questions, I'm just having a hard time finding information online about this.

I really love working with leather and am excited about moving on from kits.

Thank you

I'm not sure there is a "standard" but I'll take a swing at your questions.

1. The spacing of the holes does matter as to appearance, I normally space holes for 3/32" lace used to round braid at 1/8" apart on center and punch them with a No. 00 punch. I don't use multiple punces because they don't hold their alignment well enough to suit me. On larger projects where I will be using 1/8" lace I space them 5/32" apart and use a No. 0 punch. Either should be approximately the same distance from the edge as the hole spacing, this is measured to outside edge of the hole.

2. If I'm going to use a double loop lace, then I use a thonging chisel in the size for the width lace I'm using and the measurement from the edge is the same distance as the spacing.

These are the measurements I use, there may be others that use different measurements, these work for me and I'm sure theirs work for them. Best you do some samples and use trial and error to discover what you want to use before punching an actual project.

Chief