Tolior

Leather Molding

So, I am very new to everything leatherworking. (and I am largely teaching myself, as I don't have any friends who are leatherworkers.

One thing I am trying to do is leather molding. I know nothing about it nor how to do it. Basically I want to know anything and everything on how I can get started.

Thanks!

What are you trying to mold? Short answer is you get it wet, stretch it into the shape you want it. What you want to make will affect how you do it.

The first thing I'm looking to make is a simply sheath for a small flashlight of mine. (led lenser F1). It's pretty small, only about 8 or 9cm. I'm thinking a paddle style holster, but I'm not sure yet. Any suggestions would be more than welcome.

An 8 or 9 cm flashlight is over 3 inches in diameter.

You will want at least 5 oz leather, . . . maybe as thick as 7/8 for a good rugged flashlight holder.

Make it like the little drawing.

May God bless,

Dwight

post-6728-0-85830500-1388664739_thumb.jp

Electrathon pretty much summed it up. I'm also self teaching and some sources that I found helpful were a book called The Art of Making Leather Cases Vol 1 by Al Stohlman, and Ian Atkinson's YouTube channel.

You know...it's just not that important and no one would care about what I was going to say anyway. Nevermind.

Edited by TXAG

Wet the leather in warm water a few seconds. Let it sit for a few minutes, you can let it sit longer if you put it in a plastic bag. Put the item in the holster, or mold the leather to the item with your thumbs. Toothbrush handles work well if they are smooth too. Once you are done put it on a shoe rack in the dryer and dry it on high for 30 minutes to stiffen the leather.

First though, figure out if you are going to stitch the holster and force the light into it. Or mold the holster and stitch it after.

I would probably mold it first, and then stitch it.

Is the process much different?