I was just wondering what most people are using for sewing machines? I do know the hand saddle stitch is stronger but am still curious what people are using. Ive been eyeing many different machines and was curious what people liked and what they could sew on them.

Thanks

Jeremy

I've been using a Boss for 19 months. Sucks for belts and stuff like VM2 clones, but otherwise it's been good to me.

I am just getting to know my Juki 441. I considered getting a Boss but Cobra Steve made me an offer I couldn't pass up.

I use a Toro 3000. Still getting my learning curve down!

Just purchased and received the CB4500 Cowboy this past Monday.

Jake

Im afraid of electric machines.

I ordered my Cobra Class 4 yesterday...with the new motor/servo fix, the learning curve should be a lot less pronounced...more control over speed should make it easier to learn..

As long as the leather is properly bonded so that the stitch isn't the only thing holding a seam together, there is no problem using a lock stitch. Yes, a saddle stitch is stronger, but a machine is much faster.

I use a Boss.

Boss Here, still hand stitch a lot also. The machine is good for some things but hand stitching is hard to beat on everything except time.

Chief

Edited by Chief31794

From the old grump: I hand stitch. IMO hand stitching is (when done properly) better looking, stronger, and longer lasting than what a machine does. When doing custom work, the customer deserves, and is paying for, the best that you can produce, and IMO that is a product that is hand stitched. Mike

Randall Lockstitch. I can run the machine fine, still learning to make holsters though wacko.gif

2012-05-20+16.15.03.jpg

Randall Lockstitch. I can run the machine fine, still learning to make holsters though wacko.gif

2012-05-20+16.15.03.jpg

That is a beautiful machine!! I just love the old iron. Any idea of its age?

Jeremy