Sign in to follow this  
leatheroo

Hand Engraved Leather Using A Rotary Engraver

I like experimenting on leather with tools that are not usually used. I have a micromotor and handpiece, similar to what a dentist might use. I have been experimenting with lots of different burrs etc. Anyway, here is a piece i just finished. Not sure what to do with it. I was thinking of adding another circle with some more aztec figures and turning it into a clock

cheers for now

caroline

PS the mandala is about 18cm diameter.

post-4514-073575200 1302405813_thumb.jpg

Edited by leatheroo

Great Detail. What exactly did you use?

Total newbie.

God Bless, Ray

The tool is basically a rotary engraver...it rotates at 20000+ per minute...similar to a dremel but smaller, stronger and absolutely No vibration from the handpiece.

I used the laserprinter and acetone method to transfer the image to the leather.

post-4514-091396100 1302412744_thumb.jpg

Edited by leatheroo

that looks great, did you antique it?

I tried that several times with a dremel, but the engraved lines were not clean enough. They were kind of rough... That was the reason why i got into carving :)

When seeing yours, i want to try it again :)

Greetings,

Jonathan

hi jonathan, yes i did antique it. I had also tried the dremel but didnt get very good results...the micromotor is alot more precise and no hand vibration.

cheers

Leatheroo,

Nicely done. You_Rock_Emoticon.gif

Is a page from the Book of Kells next? smile.gif

BillB

I like it alot !! Making it into clock is a great ideal.

Billy, i had to google book of kells.....great artwork!!!!!!

Which type of bits did you use and thickness of leather? I've wondered myself about engraving with air tools (dentist grade) powercrafter and powercarver 400 (400,000 rpm's) setting at 45 on the air compressor.