naz

Beginner Working With Thicker Layers Of Leather And Inverse Pricking Iron

hi,

beginner here and I recently started saddle stitching w vergez blanchard tools and I use cheaper remnant leathers to practice and they never come in thin quality sizes, although I use a skiving knife to thin the thick edges, usually I deal w leather where my pricking tool wont help to leave/ marks on the back side, is using REVERSE / INVERSE PRICKING IRON which i recently found on vergez tools website, is it for this purpose?

/also do you know which pricking size hermes uses usually? no. 10 or 9 please? /

thank you!

Hermes uses a few different size irons and use portmanteau/ inverse irons instead of regular irons on the front side. Just a guess but they probably use 9 to 11 for watch straps and horse saddle and I would think around 8-9 for the larger goods. If I had to guess I would say 8 vergez (dixon 7 equivalent) I have the 9 vergez and the stitch looks a bit smaller. I wouldn't be surprised if they use 9 for the handle and 8 for the dee shield part (part that connects the handle to the bag) . They are very close in size so its hard to say. Keep in mind that a majority of their goods are machine stitched or mostly

I recently have had success with cast the thread - left needle first, right needle second, take the loop on the backside and throw it over the needle (away from yourself). The few times I have used it before was using thin leather and it didn't work so well. On thicker leather the stitch looks nice and with thin thread .6mm thread it looks better IMO than thicker .8mm. This technique if you are able to get the holes somewhat straight the back stitch will look neat. Even hermes items if you look through google images has imperfections in the stitches and isn't suppose to be 100 percent perfect. In my opinion casting the thread is a better option than not casting the thread with stretchy leathers like chrome or pull up and thick leathers.