Sign in to follow this  
dave284

How does this look for a starter kit?

Except for dyes and finnish, I think this should give me a pretty good start. http://www.eleatherworks.com/cart.php?mode...24200e7f0a9c89f

What would you change, add or delete? The only thing I've ever made with leather was a belt from a kit. That was 30 years ago in junior high, so I'm a total newb. Till I'm sure that this is going to be something I truly enjoy, I don't want to get in the hole to far on tools.

All suggestions welcomed.

Thanks,

Dave.

I would go to Joanns or similer to look for the bees wax, you can get a good sized brick for that price (about 5 times as much wax).

Shop around the other leather supply places for some better deals.

What exactly are you planning to build? That will have a little bit to do with what I would suggest you do or don't purchase.

For intro level carving/stamping, you'd go good to start with something like a "basic 7" kit that Tandy sells. I'm not particularly endorsing Tandy, because I feel that the quality of their stamps has fallen off recently, but that type of set. Keep in mind that with a little creativity, each tool has a multitude of uses. Tilting a stamp produces different results, and who said you HAVE to hit it with a mallet? I use my bevellers and drag them, push with them, etc.

For the other tools....

Good choice with the awl. It's not an "everything" model, but nothing ever is, and this will get you started.

Nylon slicker- 50/50, you don't have to have it, but it does help round an edge. I made a folder/creaser/slicker with a $2 chunk of nice wood from Woodcraft by sanding to shape, and added a groove to the back of it. The groove starts wide, then narrows down, allowing different thickness of leather, depending on the angle I hold the tool.