bhansen05

Tips To Making A Notepad

I'm planning on making a notepad for my dad for Christmas. I'm new to leather work and have never attemped one before.

I was wanting to no what would be a good weight of leather to use and were your spine meets up with your leaves do you skive the edges to make them join up smoother. Also when you glue in a liner how do you make it so its tight when its open but dosent bunch up bad when its closed.

If you have any other tips to save me some trouble I would really appreciate them. I love this site and have learned so much. I have also gathered a lot of project ideas like this notepad to push me to get better.

Thank you for your time.

I'm planning on making a notepad for my dad for Christmas. I'm new to leather work and have never attemped one before.

I was wanting to no what would be a good weight of leather to use and were your spine meets up with your leaves do you skive the edges to make them join up smoother. Also when you glue in a liner how do you make it so its tight when its open but dosent bunch up bad when its closed.

If you have any other tips to save me some trouble I would really appreciate them. I love this site and have learned so much. I have also gathered a lot of project ideas like this notepad to push me to get better.

Thank you for your time.

Hi and welcome! Great people here and lot's of knowledge (decades and worldwide!)

Depending on how big and sturdy and style and usage of the notebook will determine the weight of leather. Soft might be 4/5oz whereas firm and stiffer and larger might be 8/9oz. We need to know more to help you the most.

Regarding the structure

1-I wouldn't try a 3 pc (2 sides and a spine) for your first attempt. It's much easier to make a 1 piece and simply groove the center and thin with a french edger to get a nice fold. Try to thin the center to about 1/2 the thickness if the sides.