OldToby

Sewing Tough Leather And Suede By Machine

I am sewing using an old singer patch machine. I am stitching a normal soft leather and some suede. When I sew it together, the suede stretches as I sew it and throws off the project. I can have two pieces of leather that are the same size and when I finish stitching the line, they come out different sizes. Can anyone help? I am kind of new to this and trying to figure stuff out. Thanks for any help!

~Old Toby

Toby, when i sew two pieces of leather together i either glue them together first

or use staples to keep the leather in place. this works for me.

Hi Old Toby, i use a heavy leather stitching machine. { cobra 4 } it will sew pretty thin leather... i've practiced on suede and other thin stuff.

i use frabi-tac glue and it's wonderful. it's clear, dries quickly, and holds well. it became a good alternative to contact cement on small items.

i'm making custom leather pen sleeves for a pen making site and i use frabri-tac exclusively. it can be had at frabric stores, wal-mart, etc.

hope this helps.... rickymoo

I am sewing using an old singer patch machine. I am stitching a normal soft leather and some suede. When I sew it together, the suede stretches as I sew it and throws off the project. I can have two pieces of leather that are the same size and when I finish stitching the line, they come out different sizes. Can anyone help? I am kind of new to this and trying to figure stuff out. Thanks for any help!

~Old Toby

Toby,

This topic has been addressed here before. With some luck one should be able to find the info you seek. My answer is a simple one but I'm assuming the reader has compensated for drag and properly adjusted the pressure foot tension on there machine.