sheowahya

How to care for a ruby swivel knife blade?

G'Day

I recently became the proud owner of a ruby blade.

But as some of you know, I am very new to the craft and am still learning to work with my steel and ceramic blades.

Before I do something horribly wrong and destroy the blade forever, what do I need to know about the care, maintenance, and use of this very special tool?

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge with a newbie.

Marilyn

Hi Marilyn,

Ruby was all the rage 15 years ago. It didn't last long as ruby is hard but quite brittle resulting in dings on the blades which never really were fixable because the ruby usually came off when attempting to regrind the darned things. I found they could be sharpened on a flat steel grinder with diamond paste if not dinged too bad but were still prone to ruby detachment which can be reattached with jewlers cement sometimes. What I am getting at here is you have a collectors item. Current technology says steel or ceramic, you pick em.

Art

G'Day

But as some of you know, I am very new to the craft and am still learning to work with my steel and ceramic blades.

Before I do something horribly wrong and destroy the blade forever, what do I need to know about the care, maintenance, and use of this very special tool?

Marilyn

G'Day

Marilyn

Hi Marilyn,

The ruby blades aren't really ruby, exept in color. I think they are some sort of man made substance. From what I have heard, they tend to chip VERY easily if dropped, and sometimes the ruby tip just falls out of them. They are also about impossible to sharpen without special tools. But, if they aren't damaged, they were supposed to stay really sharp with just normal maintenance, using a strop as you would any blade. I know one master leather carver that likes them better than any of the blades he has from custom tool makers. They are also gaining value as collector items. You can use it, and will probably like it, but just be careful not to drop it.

Clay