hushnel

Masticating bovine dermis in sunny southern Florida

I've been fooling around with leather for at least 20 years, I should be much better at it than I am but I can't stay focused and tend to drift and dabble into other skills/hobbies. I always come back to leather work because I need stuff that is made out of leather. Such as stuff for the motorcycle, knives, guns and pistols, bags, cases, wallets, belts and off the wall stuff like gourd instruments with rawhide heads, musician related junk, like pick holders and straps. The regular stuff nothing too fancy.

I got busy a few years ago when the chopper motorcycle thing was big and I was asked by a buddy who owned a MC shop to do a few custom jobs for his clients. The motorcycle seats took over my life for a few years, man I'm glad that has passed, it was crazy, then all of a sudden every leather worker in the world started doing the custom tooled seats and I couldn't pull in the big bucks as often as I had, thank you, truth is I don't like making the seats, the pans always seem un-symmetrical, making pattern making and the art insane. I did some work for Billy Lane of Choppers Inc. and had a chance to meet Paul Cox and talk with him about the craft, the guy has some of the best beveling I've ever seen though he doesn't draw it out, rather leaves it as a channel, which is kind of cool too. Anyhow I still have a web site I put up during this time and have kept it, though it has drifted into other directions some of the leather projects are still posted on the first three pages or so, www.barclaycustoms.com if you're board to tears and need a distraction.