7 replies to this topic

#1 Lurker2

Lurker2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Leatherwork Specialty:None yet

Posted 04 August 2010 - 08:53 PM

OK, the noob here has a question. I need to attach loop Velcro to the inside of a belt. Belt is single thickness, so rivets and stitching are both out. Has anyone successfully used glue? I need something stronger than Velcro's StickyBack or heat-activated types.

#2 Dwight

Dwight

Leatherworker.net Regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,035 posts
  • Interests:Church Pastor, Shooter, Leatherworking, Hunting, making most anything for the first time (yeah, I get bored easy)
  • Leatherwork Specialty:gun leather
  • Interested in learning about:working with leather
  • How did you find leatherworker.net?:from 1911.com

Posted 04 August 2010 - 09:13 PM

There may be a better way, Lurker2, . . . but so far I have not found it. I've tried just about the best contact cement I've ever seen and even it would not hold it like I wanted it to.

I made a couple of special cell phone (I phone type) holders for a unique situation, . . . needed flap over the top, . . . velcro to keep flap closed, . . . that was the order.

I wound up contact cementing the things on there, . . . then stitching them.

If I was doing the belt you mentioned, . . . contact cement first, . . . then sew the edges, making it appear decorative.

May God bless,
Dwight
If you can breathe, . . . thank God.

If you can read, . . . thank a teacher.

If you are reading this in English, . . . thank a veteran.

www.dwightsgunleather.com

#3 Lurker2

Lurker2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Leatherwork Specialty:None yet

Posted 05 August 2010 - 08:31 AM

... I've tried just about the best contact cement I've ever seen and even it would not hold it like I wanted it to.

If I was doing the belt you mentioned, . . . contact cement first, . . . then sew the edges, making it appear decorative.

Dwight,
Thanks for the quick reply.