• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 eyehunter

eyehunter

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 September 2011 - 08:30 AM

I am a very novice leather worker who has mainly worked on projects related to scouting. Our troop is in need of some axe head and saw blade covers. I was thinking about having the boys make them as opposed to purchasing. Any suggestions for simple patterns? I was also looking for suggestions on reasonable sites to purchase supplies?

#2 WinterBear

WinterBear

Leatherworker

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 820 posts
  • Interests:Just about everything.
  • Leatherwork Specialty:Nothing...yet.

Posted 23 September 2011 - 09:29 AM

Hey there. I am working on similar for my Troop. I won't be able to get to pictures or sketches until next week at the earliest (Eagle project this weekend and I'm in the middle of packing up house for a move), but the Troop has some old axe sheaths (hopefully they didn't get tossed this past week when they cleaned the storeroom). I am hoping to be able to use those old sheaths to build new ones, with a few improvements to hopefully avoid what caused the originals to fail in the first place, based on what I have learned here. (I found I shouldn't using rivets to keep the blade from damaging the stitching--I should use a nice thick welt instead! That way the blade doesn't get dulled or damaged by metal-to-edge content. Not to mention on the old sheaths that failed, most of them tore and/or rotted around the rivets. Some of the axes had pitting from contact with the rivets too.)

This guy had a pretty good idea for one sheath, the second axe with the stud closure: http://leatherworker...ndpost&p=204808. I might replace the stud with a heavy duty snap and reinforced attachments, as teen boys tend to be rougher than norm on the gear, and I can see the hole wearing through. The first one might also work with a buckle or snap arrangement, for the same reason.