UKRay

Gum Tragacanth - What it is and how to use it.

Like many people on this forum I like trying new ideas and products but I sometimes feel that I haven't got the best from some of the older older stuff. Gum Trag is a good example. In recent years I have started to use it for slicking veg tan belt edges, just like many other people but, frankly, it doesn't seem appreciably better than plain old water.

Before I get the lecture about hard work being the only way to burnish an edge, I ought to say I worked as a harness maker for years and firmly believe that a well-burnished edge should involve sweat - if not blood and tears. So why am I using this stuff? - Because the guy in the shop said I should - that's why!

Has anyone got a better reason? Can you please share your ways of using Gum Trag so I can be sure I'm doing it right? Hey, we might find some new ways to use it and I can stop feeling like I'm wasting my money every time I buy another bottle.

To start the ball rolling here is a link to the Wikipedia definition just so we are all on the same page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gum_tragacanth

Are they serious? Cake decorating? Medicine? Artist's materials? There may be more to this than you think...

i use it for slicking edges and smoothing rough backs on straps etc.

i think the stuff comes from a plant only found in Afghanistan.

I use to use spit/water to slick the edge, but i think the gum stuff works a tad better. to me if you cant get it, then water will probably do fine. im have a gallon jug of the stuff and so i dont mind using it.

i think that if water works for you, then go for it. who says there is only one way to solve a problem?

i use the gum by applying with a wool dauber, making sure i dont over do it and get it dripping over the edge. i then use a (clean) old sock to buff it. i think it takes less sweat then those plastic buffing tools (which i also have and used).