• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 jeremyqmartin

jeremyqmartin

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 10:12 PM

Hello, I'm a noob who wants to make a satchel. I got a quarter shoulder hide and some soft pigskin for lining. I still need the basic tools.

I have some black Feibings dye that I used on some suspender button attachments for pants. I also got some coffee color Eco Flo from Tandy.

What's the main difference in these brands?

#2 glockanator

glockanator

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 368 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 10:19 PM

I have only used eco floonce and then threw it away. I use only fiebings dye. Some have trouble with the USMC black wanting to rub off onto clothing but I have found that if you dye then buff the hell out of it and then seal you won't have any problems.

#3 jeremyqmartin

jeremyqmartin

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 10:29 PM

Thanks, I think I read Fiebings is alcohol and Eco-flo is water based?

I tried them both on a test piece of the thick shoulder an the Fiebings soaked right in but the Eco just kinda smeared around, I wasn't sure it absorbed until I wiped it off.

#4 electrathon

electrathon

Instructor

• Contributing Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,391 posts
  • Leatherwork Specialty:Floral

Posted 04 May 2013 - 12:35 AM

Thanks, I think I read Fiebings is alcohol and Eco-flo is water based?

I tried them both on a test piece of the thick shoulder an the Fiebings soaked right in but the Eco just kinda smeared around, I wasn't sure it absorbed until I wiped it off.

I think you nailed the differance. Fiebings soaks in and EcoFlo sits on the surface. The differance will really show in a year when it starts to wear.

Aaron

#5 Studio-N

Studio-N

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Interests:Craftwork of all sorts - woodworking, leatherworking, glasswork, everything except workwork.
  • Leatherwork Specialty:Laser Engraver
  • Interested in learning about:Braiding