Jump to content


Sherkhan1962

Member Since 08 Jan 2013
Offline Last Active Apr 28 2014 08:24 AM

About Me

I am Fred, from the Brittany (Bretagne) Province in France, part in the old days of the King Arthur and Merlin's legendary Britain once settled on both sides of the Channel.

Up to recently I worked as a skilled Marine Joiner and from time to time in the construction field as a joiner and fitter, both trades in which I have been trained many years ago. I have also been trained in metalwork in a vocational school when I was 16, spent (to spend is indeed the appropriate verb!) one year in a School of Fine Arts, was in 2001 on the edge to study Educational Sciences, for which I validated past work experiences to compensate the two first years of studies, after the University Entrance Exam prepared during evening courses at the age of 38, and self trained myself in leather work, which I discovered in Italy with a refugee from Chili in the early 80's, and computer graphics (among other activities).

My life brought me also in many places around the world, some being unfortunately not accessible anymore (e.g. Timbuctu and Quetta), first to discover it through personal travels, then to work as a Technical Trainer with different French and British Non Governmental Organizations, mostly in the disability field using appropriate technology (what includes molded leather for prosthetic devices), and in France in a Social Rehabilitation Center. I even gave a hand for a few days to Habitat for Humanity in Eagle Butte on the Cheyenne River Sioux (Lakota) Reservation in South Dakota at fall 1996 on a housing project. Since my last humanitarian involvement (back from Bhutan in 2001) I shared my time between boat building, mostly in Lorient or around on the Atlantic shore, and the renovation, nearly finished by now, of my countryside house where I have settled my workshop.

Two years ago I have established a self-employed business, making fine crafts, fate (or perhaps Wakan Tanka - the Great Spirit) having granted me with various talents and enough imagination to express my creativity. But I have to reckon today that for most people the way they perceive the value of work has been totally distorted and perverted along the past thirty years, leading them to compare items made now by thousands or even millions in Asia by workers paid peanuts and items made by the piece in Western countries where the wage has obviously to match the cost of living. In short, it's far to be successful, especially with this so-called economic crisis, and I actually refocus my activities, being at the stage of the market study for stitching clamps and stitching ponies and other devices for crafters and professionals. I will soon post on LW a full description with photos of the prototypes made so far and I hope to communicate with professional leather workers and to be granted of their expertise if this can improve final products that match their expectations.

In the meantime you can visit my website to look at some of the items I made in various fields: www.crafts-design.com and some photos I also post soon on LW.

I am also interested in the making of traditional drums, therefore I'll be glad to discuss about this topic with anyone, Native Americans or others knowing how to.

Community Stats


  • Group Members
  • Active Posts 35
  • Profile Views 940
  • Member Title Member
  • Age 52 years old
  • Birthday July 9, 1962
  • Gender
    Male Male
  • Location
    Brittany, FRANCE
  • Interests
    All manual trades applied to fine crafts: Leather work, woodwork, wood turning, metalwork, beading, drawing, painting, carving, etc. Astronomy. Native American cultures. Spirituality & Philosophy. Shamanism. Music and playing guitar.

LW Info


  • Interested in learning about
    Making drums.
  • How did you find leatherworker.net?
    Google

Contact Information


User Tools

Friends

Latest Visitors