CodeJockey

How do I get consistent stitch holes?

I'm completely new to leather working, so I apologize up front for the beginner questions. I've been wanting to get into it for some time, and so I asked for the tools to get me started for Christmas. Anyway, yesterday I took two pieces of leather (4-5oz) veg tanned leather. I cut and then glued them together, and then stitched them. My stitches came out very well, but the problem I ran into was trying to get my stitch holes consistent. Spacing wasn't as much the issue (I used one of those stitch wheels) as depth of the awl when punching the holes. Since the awl blade tapers, some were way too big while others weren't big enough. Can' y'all provide some insight into how best to accomplish this?

I use and old wood cutting board (not to hard, not too soft) under the leather when stabbing holes and I just push the awl until there's enough resistence from the board and so I get my holes about the same in diameter.

Tom

I'm using an Osborne awl with the CS042-1 1/2 awl blade. I stab it through all the way. All the same size, none seem too big. This is at 6 spi. If you are going for finer stitches this may not work.

I'm still a beginner so take this with a grain of salt.

Dan

I'm using an Osborne awl with the CS042-1 1/2 awl blade. I stab it through all the way. All the same size, none seem too big. This is at 6 spi. If you are going for finer stitches this may not work.

Dan

I tried to find an example of that. I looked at Tandy Leather Factory online and at the CSOsborne site. All I could find still showed that the awl was tapered. But I'm sure I'm just not looking at the right thing. Here is the link at CS Osborne's site:

CS Osborne Site

Here's the link to the only Osborne stitching awl I could find at Tandy:

Osborne Stitching Awl