krummark

Plough Gauge blade bevel

I want to start out and say I have little to knowledge of plough gauges and no experience with them at all. But I do have the chance to pick one up from a local guy who got some tools from a friend. Looking at the plough guage, both sides of the blade are beveled, and correct me if I'm wrong, but from my understanding only one side should be beveled. 

Does having both sides beveled ruin the blade? Is it fixable? If so, how intensive would that be? They were asking like $200 for it, if that is a defective blade, is it even worth it anymore, if it still a good tool would it lower the price?

Looking forward to learning about plough guages here.

Just post the brand here and old boys contact info. We can just order a new knife for it from a few different aftermarket makers. 200 is a steal bro

You're correct that the knife blade should have a single bevel facing the guide and a flat backside.  This setup pushes the leather strap against the guide.  The knife might be repaired by taking the edge back to where the backside of the knife is flat and the front has a gradual taper of less than 20 deg.  It depends on how much bevel has to be removed and how much blade is left.  The tip of the blade should be positioned at or near the trailing side of the ruled bar that the strap slides across.  If the plough gauge is an old Blanchard or Dixon in working condition, I think the frame alone is worth $200.  They are hard to find and you could have a knife made for the frame.

Edited by TomE

Thanks for the replies guys. I am curious now though, how much would a replacement blade cost for the frame? It's an old H. Brindley plow gauge if that brand makes a difference or means anything.