Steveage

Leather Wasters Anonymous

I've been attempting to work leather for a few years now, and the one thing I know for absolute certain about this topic is that possessing the skill set required to make a functional item doesn't mean that you also have the skill set to make that functional item with finish-grade quality.

I cringe at the thought of how much leather I have wasted. I've made every mistake you can think of, and probably more than once. Take a look at my latest blunder:

Not too shabby... Nice, evenly aligned stitching holes. I use Lightburn to make templates that I cut out with a 5 watt diode laser. On leather that isn't too thick, or that cuts well with a laser, I don't have to cut the panels by hand, which I enjoy not having to do immensely. And, once the template is created, it saves a crump ton of time in the future. I also love watching the laser (with eye protection) do its thing:

901394359_misalignedholes4.thumb.jpg.3c7ba99507ca1e5f51bda58a97597f4d.jpg

Stitching holes are different. I set the laser to low power (about 20%) and space them according to what pricking iron I want to use (usually 3 or 4mm). But why did I feel the need to use the laser to mark stitching holes on the liner of this wallet, and then decide to use the outer panel as a guide?

72506943_misalignedholes2.thumb.jpg.6f93c990b0ffa41a07b7f959a6a29274.jpg

It doesn't look so bad in the first picture. Here's a closer shot:

285006563_misalignedholes1.thumb.jpg.9c0beb61e2698d74a33b7fe4cd13543a.jpg

That's horrible. I have perfectly spaced, crisply round stitching holes that are totally misaligned to their respective marks. My leather wastage is surpassed only by the amount of time I wasted wasting it. Which is in turn surpassed by the amount of money I spent to waste it. That's Herman Oak. It'll make a fine addition to the scrap box!