Sign in to follow this  
IronCross

Sailrite Ultrafeed lsz-1 for leather belts?

So I make leather belts and straps (10-12oz) with a thin wliner on the backside, and I’m currently hand stitching these. I’ve been wanting to purchase a sewing machine but unfortunately do not have $2500 to drop on some of the obvious choices.

I found a great deal on a Sailrite Ultrafeed with walking foot. Does anybody have experience with these, or know if they would be an option for leatherwork? 

forgive my ignorance on the matter, I’m new to the craft.

Thanks in advance

-J

3 hours ago, IronCross said:

I found a great deal on a Sailrite Ultrafeed with walking foot.

Since you are hand stitching you are probably use to thick thread, fairly large stitch spacing's and tougher veg tan leather. The Sailrite will top out at about 3/8" thickness, made for softer leather, has a max sewing thread size of V92 and the stitch length spacing will reduce as the thickness of material increases.

This would not be my first choice. To get into the larger thread sizes, thicker / tougher materials consider a better used machine or maybe a one armed bandit like the Tippmann Boss or Cowboy Outlaw.

kgg

5 hours ago, IronCross said:

So I make leather belts and straps (10-12oz) with a thin wliner on the backside, and I’m currently hand stitching these. I’ve been wanting to purchase a sewing machine but unfortunately do not have $2500 to drop on some of the obvious choices.

I found a great deal on a Sailrite Ultrafeed with walking foot. Does anybody have experience with these, or know if they would be an option for leatherwork? 

forgive my ignorance on the matter, I’m new to the craft.

Thanks in advance

-J