honur

Leather Defects Photos Required

Hello,
My name is Onur. I am a software developer and engineer. I'd like to pick my master degree project about leather defects and how to detect them with a regular phone camera.
For this reason, I need to train an artificial intelligence(AI) and I am planning to develop a phone app and let everybody to use it.
But training AI needs too much visual data. That's where I need your support.

Plus: I am open to all advices from valuable users of this website. I am planning to detect leather defects at the stage of "leather calcification" which I am not sure I translate it right to english.

Thank you guys, I need maybe 1000's of photos but I believe this project will be helpful for all leather workers. I can share my email adress for bulk photos if its not forbidden in website rules.

I'm going to put a real damper on your plans

In my experience almost all 'defects'  in leather can only be detected by actual handling of the leather. The defects can not be seen. Some 'defects' only appear after the leather is dyed or worked, they have not been seen until then

I do not count scars and blemishes as 'defects' but as character of the leather and as these are unique to each hide which might have them no AI will be able to classify or recognise them

I'm gonna put another, earn your own masters, do the work your self so you actually know what your talking about when your done.

7 minutes ago, fredk said:

I'm going to put a real damper on your plans

In my experience almost all 'defects'  in leather can only be detected by actual handling of the leather. The defects can not be seen. Some 'defects' only appear after the leather is dyed or worked, they have not been seen until then

I do not count scars and blemishes as 'defects' but as character of the leather and as these are unique to each hide which might have them no AI will be able to classify or recognise them