IanO

New member in the UK

Hi all

Thanks for letting me into your community.

I am a novice at leathercraft and always looking for ideas.  I started leatherwork mainly to make decent covers for my growing collection of greenwood working tools, for which covers are pretty expensive.  Given the number of *essential* tools I have managed to buy over the last three months to help me in my leatherwork endeavours, I am beginning to see why.

Beyond wood and leather, I also brew beer.

I appreciate that this might give you the impression of some aged, bearded, old man - ploughing his trade in some remote woodland location but  whilst I am Scottish and from the country, I now live in London and work in the Finance sector - escapism, I guess!

Anyhoo - advice always welcome and my mantra is "all the gear and no idea" so please bear in mind that I am a novice, when I am asking daft questions on how to work some new tool I just picked up off ebay!

Ian

Welcome to the nut-hatch, er the forum

The only daft question is the one not asked. You'll find plenty of help on here. And there are several hunderd pages of   'How do I . . . '.     I'm still making my way through them

Have to get you off that beer, ale is better, and even better is wine

Ever thought of keeping bees? A friend of mine*  lives in Londinium and keeps bees in the top floor of his house. Gets about 100 -150 pounds of honey every season. Honey is very useful for making wine and mead. Goes nice on toast as well

*lost contact with him several years ago

Welcome neighbour from Chatham, Kent. There are a few of us on here though not many.

Ask away Ian, that's what forums are for.

Welcome from SW Missouri, USA.  Great group of folks here more than willing to answer any question you may have.

Welcome.  I recommend videos from JH Leather and Harry Rogers for basic construction methods.  She uses the traditional tools and methods.  Abbey England is a quality source.