Sign in to follow this  
jmcmahan

Best String cutter & beveler

I am just getting started in braiding.I would like to have ya'll's opinion on the best

string cutter to buy,and if possible why you think so.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Wow you have got tons of looks but no help. I don't have near enough experience to really have an opinion, but I will relay what I recall others saying. The Hansen one seems very popular but not for the faint of wallet (about $400). It has the advantage of being all 3 in one tool. The ones linked on Gail Hought's site look to be similar but you have to buy 2 tools vs one so they are even more expensive. (about $300 ea)

I have the $10 plastic one from Tandy, it works ok once you get the hang of it. It will not bevel or split though.

Mike

Jim

I have a Brain Nuebert string cutter/beveler. I like it because it has a dail to adjust the width. Which makes it pretty easy to adjust the width a hair if needed. The only down side is the cost (400.00) Just my .o2cents worth.

Mike

I just cut my lace with a Aussie Strander then I have these little jigs made up of scrap steel one I use to resize and taper the stretched lace the other to bevel it....I posted the pictures big so people can see to copy them if they wish

Tony

DSCN4118001.jpg

DSCN4120001.jpg

DSCN4121001.jpg

post-5109-1234516151_thumb.jpg

post-5109-1234516171_thumb.jpg

post-5109-1234516198_thumb.jpg

Howdy;

I have had good luck with the lacemaster, it seems to cut string very well and puts a good bevle on it. I have made both giant austrailian field mouse (kangaroo) and rawhide lace.

I am very happy with the lacemaster but I still wonder if the neubert cutter might be a little better.

I think the neubert string cutter is the best of the hanson style cutters. I would reccomend either the lacemaster or the neubert.

http://www.lacemaster.com/

http://www.bryanneubert.com/HTML/videos.htm

Howdy;