Sign in to follow this  
pete

1-1/2" belt pattern if you like

David, Clay, Bruce, et.al. Please critique this pattern if you would. Re-draw if you can- if anyone likes it it's free!!!

It's my first attempt at a serious pattern. \Enjoy!

Picture_1.png

post-520-1204857349_thumb.png

David, Clay, Bruce, et.al. Please critique this pattern if you would. Re-draw if you can- if anyone likes it it's free!!!

It's my first attempt at a serious pattern. \Enjoy!

Nice job, it has taken me 4 years to get brave enough to attempt to draw my own. At least you were much smarter than I, by doing a belt strip. My first attempt is a pattern to cover a box that is 36" wide X 20" high X 19 deep. All sides have a different scenery pattern to them. A few parts of them started out from old doodle pages or others patterns blown up. But in the month I have been working on these there is not much left on them now that has not been modified. Some of you will be able to pick out Robert Beard's scrolls, and some of Christine Stanley, Al Stohlman, Kat's K, parts to them. I willpost photos of them when I get it carved. Hope to get the Leather and start carving it soon.

Please critique this pattern if you would. Re-draw if you can-

Overall, I like it. I can't draw at all, so any creatitivity is always impressive to me. The main critique I would give is that you need slightly less background in the leafy area and more fill in.

Pete,

One of the things that happens when you start sketching things and loosening up is that you can kind of freak out when you suddenly put a limit on the space. Kind of like dancing out in a field then trying to dance in a prison cell. You can dance in a prison cell too. Not that I have tried.... or had the opportunity. Take your drawing and draw in your flow line. It is almost straight. I have attached three designs. Find thier flow lines. See the difference?