UKRay

Tell us about the place you live

I freely confess I'm a bit of a dreamer and can sit at the bench daydreaming for hours whilst doing mundane tasks. I've been thinking about travel lately and, as one who has been round the world a few times as a journalist, I thought I had finally got the 'been there and done that' tee shirt.

Now I'm not so sure.

I keep seeing place names attached to postings (it seems the requests for profile info are working) and each time I do so I wonder what those places are really like. Forth Worth in Texas is a good example. I have been seeing that place name on boxes and invoices for the past thirty years and have never had the opportunity to visit. Same goes for North Dakota,the Great Lakes and TN. I have spent months in Silicon Valley but would also dearly like to see the old plantation houses in South Carolina. I want to see aligators in the Everglades but there must be a host of other great places in the US that never make it onto my radar.

To make things worse, my son is about to fly out to New Zealand in a couple of weeks time to work as an IT contractor and tells me he may not be coming back. This opens up another can of worms as Australasia is suddenly on my list of places that I'm going to need to visit. Hey, I've always wanted to see wild kangaroos and Kiwis, but there must be loads of other things folk shouldn't miss downunder.

Scandinavia is also on my list of destinations. I have spent time in Norway, Sweden and Finland but mainly saw the inside of offices. Is it really as beautiful as the tourist brochures say? How about the rest of Europe - Germany, France and Italy are all gorgeous and so are many of the eastern European countries.

How about a brief description of your area of the world and maybe a few pictures so we can all see what we are missing. It might make holiday planning a whole lot easier!

Ray