RunningRoan

Modifying round punches to make scalloped border?

I like the look of this scalloped border:

Cody_haler_close_md-505x346.jpg

and want to try it on some of my projects.

I'm thinking the best way to achieve the tiny scallop is to modify some round punches...cut off half of the punch so it only cuts a half circle instead of a full circle? Correct?

So how do I modify the punches? I have zero experience working with metal, but I have access to a drill press. Or does the proper tool already exist and I can just buy some?

I have modified a couple of round punches on a belt grinder, but I think you can find pinking irons on tha market, both new and old ones.

/ knut

I just use a grinder and half of the punch off. But weaver sells half round punches as well. I know others do to just dont know who.

Tim Worley

TK-Leather

Thanx for the compliment! If you look closely you'll see there are actually 2 accent colors under the silver spots.. : )

Cody_haler_close_md-505x346.jpg

and want to try it on some of my projects.

I'm thinking the best way to achieve the tiny scallop is to modify some round punches...cut off half of the punch so it only cuts a half circle instead of a full circle? Correct?

So how do I modify the punches? I have zero experience working with metal, but I have access to a drill press. Or does the proper tool already exist and I can just buy some?

In my humble opinion, go on ebay and get a set of the cheap punches. Take them to your bench grinder to make your scalloped punches. They are good enough for that but don't cost a lot in case you ruin one.

Like the others have said get a cheap punch and grind it off. Check it as you grind on a piece of scrap leather so you can see what the plinked looks like. I've done it and it's not hard to do.

Or, rather than trying to modify a tool when you really don't have the skills or the equipment to do that, you might try looking for an existing tool that will do what you want.