Maus

Mulitiple Piece Masks...

this is my first post, so please forgive me if its a little short as I am unsure where to start and don't terribly care to have my foot levitate from the floor and shove its way into my mouth....

I am pretty new to the mask making area, and fairly new to the leather crafting wold in general, but I don't seem to let that stop me from getting ambitious ideas. I really would love to learn how to make multiple piece masks- does one use glues? If so what is the strongest ones, as I like to build my stuff to be actorproof/ to withstand me... which is about the equivalent of a atomic bomb. If one sews it how do you hide the stitches??? If there are any betterways I would love to know.

I have an idea to make a griffin mask/headress but I'd like to beable to use more than one piece to create the feathering around the eyes, and a more intense and protruding falcon sort of beak. So any help would be gratefully appreciated!!

The quick answer to your question is all of the above. Some projects are glued, some are sewn, some use both methods. A lot will depend on the leather that you are using, and the final shape.

There are several glues out there, each has it's advantages, and disadvantages. You may try a search of the forums for --- glue. Rubber cement, contact cement, Barge cement, it goes on and on.

Stitches can be hidden by doing a welt then flipping the item inside out, or stitching under a slit that is then folded back over the thread. There are a few way to do it, these are just a couple.

Do these masks get painted in any way? If so threads could be molded in,and painted over.

Hi Maus, here is a pic of a multi layered mask i made quite a while ago....i used contact glue..........the bigger front layers hide the glueing for the smaller pieces

post-4514-084237900 1284931858_thumb.jpg

Nice Man of the Woods Leatheroo.