Sign in to follow this  
FlyingCowgirl

Broken Tree - Repair?

I purchased a saddle recently with a Broken tree. Even with a broken tree, this is a valuable saddle. I'm looking for advice on repairing. I will consider replacing the tree, but would rather repair it if possible. Replacing the tree seems to be a pretty huge task. I will also be asking the original saddle maker for his advice and will be taking it to the local tack shop. I am an amateur leatherworker and would really like to learn from this process and not just pay someone else to do it.

This saddle is a Fallis Balanced Ride, if it really matters. The tree is patented. I know that much.

post-11444-022938100 1306854462_thumb.jp

Edited by FlyingCowgirl

Valuable Saddle ? i would replace the tree, i did.

it is no good to anyone in it's present condition, after you replace the tree it would be of value. I M H O

Precision Saddle Tree - one of the sponsors of LW.net that has an ad up top that rotates in at times - has a tree repair service. You send them the broken tree and they repair it and send it back. You'd still learn a lot taking apart the saddle and putting it back together again, which is what you have to do to repair a tree anyway.

Wow, thanks Denise.

I contacted John Fallis and I pretty much knew what his answer was going to be, but wanted to ask anyway. Basically, I can send it to him and it will cost me $800 to fix.

I'm going to look into your suggestion and see where that goes.

Precision Saddle Tree - one of the sponsors of LW.net that has an ad up top that rotates in at times - has a tree repair service. You send them the broken tree and they repair it and send it back. You'd still learn a lot taking apart the saddle and putting it back together again, which is what you have to do to repair a tree anyway.

Luke, I want to thank you for your feedback as well. :yes:

Valuable Saddle ? i would replace the tree, i did.