damnyak

Any Help With Singer 96K41

Hello Everyone, first time post, long time reader.

I just got a free Singer 96K41. Lovely old machine, I am looking forward to sewing some Canvas and Woolens, But I know it has the potential to sew possibly two layers of 5oz Leather. I am new to These types of machines....well to sewing machines in general. I am looking for any assistance in what I would need to sew this leather. I really don't want to sew heavy holster type leather. So I won't go there.. But when I powered it up and with the needle that was left in it, it did power through the two layers but it was hanging up on the feed dog, and it was marring the leather. Now the questions.....

Would I need to put a roller foot on to handle two layers of 5oz leather,

Where would I get a decent one and a decent price?

Would this stop the marring of the underside? or any tips for that?

Any help with what needles for this machine and thread that would be good for small dry goods (braclets, wallets, keyfobs) would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you everyone.

My first industrial sewing machine was a Singer 96K40 straight stitch machine. Over the years I added all kinds of presser feet, including a full roller foot conversion. With that foot system in place I was able to sew leather vests and chaps. However, the machine could only tolerate #69 thread, maximum. The thickest seams I had to sew over were about 10 ounces (5/32"). I think you will be able to sew two 5 ounce, light temper pieces together, with a system 1138, #18 leather point needle and #69 bonded nylon thread.

As for the feed dogs marking the leather, a roller foot conversion kit should reduce that to a minimum. The kit has a single row feed dog, about 1/8" wide+. Toledo Industrial Sewing Machines sells these conversion kits for straight stitch machines like yours. They also have movable edge guides that screw into the throat plate, inline with the needle.