indypbear

Kilt belt hardware

I am looking for a hardware manufacturer/supplier for Kilt belt hardware in the US or Scotland. We need assorted buckles and the wire for the buckle bale to hook into on the other end of the belt. We appreciate any help.

John aka Indy

Edited by Johanna
removed email addy to prevent spam

You're a kiltmaker?

You're a kiltmaker?

Apologies for the delay in replying but I've been away from the computer (and TV, and phone, and work, and the mail, etc) in Scotland for a couple of weeks.

No, I'm a Police Officer who is trying really hard to be a self-employed leather worker.

I have made a few kilt belts and sporrans and the suppliers above were those which cropped-up as I was searching.

Gary

Unfortunately, those links aren't going to help the OP find what he's looking for, unless maybe contacting them will reveal something I couldn't find. While they are all retailers of kilt belt buckles, none of them come with the wire for hooking onto the buckle. The kilt belts come with that already attached and so it doesn't come with the buckles. I, too, would be interested in knowing where to get those as I'd like to get into kilt belt making myself.

Gary, I appreciate the links, but I'd be very interested in seeing the kilt belts and sporrans you made. That's what I'm looking to make myself.

Edited by 12stones

Sorry Indy,

I thought I'd got it 50% right, but maybe I read it wrong. Hope my help didn't produce more heat than light.

Where a wire loop was needed, I did make some from brass wire that I also used on for Sam Browne belts. Fortunately, while in the Army I always had a workshop handy to do the odd bit of wire bending and polishing.